The Power of Thoughts

Our Thoughts Have Power
 
 

When I decided to start this blog, I was and still am in the midst of a massive spiritual awakening. Folks who know me, or rather knew me, would say I was a vitriolic and outspoken critic of faith, religion, God, you name it. If it was anything spiritual, I found a way to dismantle it.

For many years, I had been atheist, but extremely so. A common saying for me at the time was that Religion, Faith and God created slaves of those who sought salvation through it. That it created chains and bound people to it like a massive leech. That it created evil and wickedness that could know no bounds as those bounds were decided upon by a power greater then us.
 
 
 
 
 

What I failed to realize was a very simple point: what I thought, I created. I sought to destroy and dismantle, to irritate and agitate. And in every sense of those words I did just that. I pushed those I loved the most to the brink of collapse, and for a reason that was known only to me – I feared it.

Of course, most folks who disagree with me will call bull on this point – that it’s fear that drives folks to God and religion and faith and spirituality in the first place – but let’s look at that for a moment from a logical perspective. Is it more fearful to destroy that which we do not understand, or to take a massive leap and hope the bottom isn’t that far down?

At this stage in my life, I’d like to say it’s more fearful for the former. It’s actually simpler to surmise there is nothing profound or complex in human spirituality, and in thinking such, we create the reality we choose. It’s easier to call everyone else out, and be the contrarian just for the sake of it, then it is to take that leap and create a reality that nurtures spiritual growth and love. Thoughts are like a stream. We can dam the stream, but eventually the dam will weaken. When we decide to remove the dam, we can really let loose and enjoy our spiritual growth.

Our thoughts really do create who we are – from a spiritual perspective, all the way to career choice and our intimate pairings. What we think we create, what we create we nurture and what we nurture grows – be it for good or ill – and we are left with the consequences. Only by taking the leap, thinking and believing we will make it to the bottom can we truly flourish and grow as a species, and as individuals.

Leave a comment